• Siobhan Head on Ground

BackbendAssistAshtangaWeekly Teaching Schedule:

Tuesday: Morning Mysore 6-9am Midday Mysore 11-1pm

Wednesday:Mysore 430-7pm

Thursday: Morning Mysore 6-9am Midday Mysore 11-1pm

Saturday: Full Primary 830-10am Ashtanga Basic 1015-1115am

All classes at Ashtanga Yoga Victoria.

Come check out a class! I would love to meet you and share the teachings.

I also offer private and group yoga sessions. Please contact me for more information.

Ashtanga Yoga

What is Ashtanga Yoga?
The Ashtanga Yoga Vinyasa system is a dynamic method based upon a specialized sequencing of postures and focused breathing techniques. It has been carried on through a lineage of teacher to student over the years. Shri K Pattabhi Jois introduced this form of yoga to the West in the early 60’s and now his grandson Sharath Jois carries on the lineage. People from all over the world go to Mysore in India to study the traditional method with him.

Traditionally in Mysore style practice of Ashtanga yoga as a student, you get taught posture by posture directly from the teacher and process at a pace directly to your level. You build the sequence slowly slowly one posture followed by the next modifying as needed along the way.

The teacher has you repeat the postures until the sequence is fluid and smooth. Over time you develop an independent practice and move onto new postures and eventually a new series. In a Mysore room you also get the benefit of practicing with a group. The group energy and consciousness in the space creates a beautiful focus and intention.

There are three key principles or components to the practice: breath, asana (posture), and dristi (gazing point). The integration of these 3 aspects create an overall cleansing effect and purification of the body, nervous system, and mind.

The breath used is called Ujjayi breathing. It calms the mind/body & nervous system. Ujjayi means “breathing with sound” or “victorious breath”. The breath is to be rhythmical and equal of length in both the inhale and exhale.

The postures are referred to as asana. In asanas we work the body, turn it, stretch it and explore its subleties. The asanas are designed to purify, strengthen and bring flexibilty to the body.

The gazing point(dristi) is a point of gaze or focus. It involves looking out and directing your eyes to a one pointed focus so you can go inside and look within. It helps to direct our attention to the breath, bandhas (energetic centers in body) , and mind.

Another key component in the practice are bandhas which are very subtle energetic points/seals that are internal energy gates within the subtle body which assist in the regulation of pranic flow.

As prana increases in the body a practitioner will feel a general increase in lightness, calmness, strength and stability. In the practice as we move through the sequence we work with vinyasas which link the breath with a synchronized movement. This introduces a meditative quality to the practice.

There are “six series” of postures in the Ashtanga Yoga vinyasa system. The first series is called Yoga Chikitsa or “Yoga Therapy”. The intermediate series is called Nadi Shodhana or “Nerve cleansing”. The advanced series is called Sthira Bagah Samapta or”`Completed Divine Steady Strength”.

The practice of Ashtanga Vinyasa is for everyone and can always be modified to cater to each individual’s needs. One must be sincere and commited to walk on this path of yoga. The most important thing is to go inside yourself and connect to something deeper that you can grow and transform from. The asanas are a gateway that help you to journey inward and feel.

“Try not to absorb and hold on to pain instead let it flow through you. Find ways to stay present without pushing it away”